top of page

About Our Leadership

Executive Advisory Board

EAB members represent industry and academia that actively support and advocate FIRST programs. The EAB provides constructive advice and strategies to advance the mission of Florida FIRST Robotics Education Foundation (FFREF). The members of the Orlando Regional Executive Advisory Board, to whom we are very grateful, are:


Ms. Angela Alban
President & CEO


Mr. Ivan Aron
Vice President & General Manager
Albiero Energy

Dr. Jose Bohorquez
Bold Type


Mr. George Cheros
President & CEO
The National Center for Simulation

Justin E. Cloud

Executive Director 


Senior Scientist, Systems Engineering

L3Harris Technologies

Ms. Sheena Fowler
Vice President Strategic Engagements & Business Development
RED 6 

Dr. Michael Georgiopoulos
Dean, College of Engineering & Computer Science
University of Central Florida


Dr. Jim Gregory

Dean, College of Engineering

Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University

Mr. Greg Hale
VP, Chief Safety Officer
Walt Disney Parks & Resorts

Mr. George Kaniamos
Director, Advanced Manufacturing Technologies
Lockheed Martin Missiles & Fire Control


Mr. Chester (Chet) Kennedy
President, Research & Security Solutions

Mr. Paul Podolak

Mobile Launcher 2 Project Manager

Bechtel National Inc.

Dr. Laine Powell
Executive Director
Tech Sassy Girlz

Mr. Shawn Quinn
Manager, Exploration Ground Systems Program
Kennedy Space Center


Dr. Daniel P. Rini
RINI Technologies, Inc.

Mr. Erik Sander 
The Michael Durham Executive Director
UF Engineering Innovation Institute
Herbert Wertheim Laboratory for Engineering 


Mr. Ed Schons
Former President
Florida High Tech Corridor


The Honorable Beverly Seay

Southeast Regional Director

Department of Defense

National Security Innovation Network

Rear Adm. Paul Sohl, (USN Ret)
Florida High Tech Corridor 

Nicole Stott (NASA Ret)
Founder/Director Space for Art Foundation


Ms. Andrea Wesser-Brawner 

Chief Strategy and Innovation Officer

Seminole County Government

The Florida FIRST Robotics Education Foundation (FFREF)


The Florida FIRST Robotics Education Foundation (FFREF) is a 501(C)3, non-profit organization whose mission is to promote the education of Florida’s youth by motivating and inspiring young people to have an appreciation of science, technology, robotics, mathematics and engineering and to pursue career opportunities in these fields, for the benefit of the technology and scientific community.

The Foundation supports Florida’s economic development by encouraging and promoting participation in science, technology, robotics, mathematics and engineering for the benefit of Florida’s technology and scientific community. Design accessible, innovative mentor-based programs to help young people build science, engineering, robotics and technology skills, inspire innovation, and foster well-rounded life capabilities including self-confidence, communication and leadership.

Steven Kowski,

Laurel Lichtenberger,
NASA (retired) - Treasurer

Nathan Pell,
Sun Nuclear Corporation - Secretary

Jonell Radabaugh,
Walt Disney World - X Team Chair

Sarah Plemmons, 
Lockheed Martin - Competition Chair

Dan Penny, 
Collins Aerospace - Fundraising Chair

Wayne Weinberg, 
Rollins College - VIP Committee Chair

Wendy Austin
Central Florida FIRST Regional Director

Orlando Regional Planning Committee


The Orlando Regional Planning Committee works year round to plan the Orlando Regional. All committee members are volunteers with a passion for FIRST Robotics and the Orlando Regional. Interested in joining the committee? Fill out our interest form!

Stephen Kowski


Jonell Radabaugh

Vice Chair 

Sarah Plemmons
Competition Chair

Robert Cobaich
Competition Co-Chair

David Volz and Brendan Radabaugh

Volunteer Coordinators

Elise Cronin-Hurley &
Andrea Wesser-Brawner
Judge Advisors 

Jonell Radabaugh
X-Team Chair

Barry Bonsack

Alumni Program

Bethany Petri

Ambassador Program​

Wayne Weinberg

VIP Reception​

Mike Walker
Thursday Workshops

Phu Nguyen and Amaldo Putelli

Wendy Austin


Communications Chair


Alex DiCairano
Social Media

​Elise Cronin-Hurley


Alex Bingham
Fundraising Chair​

Wendy Austin, Laurel Lichtenberger,
Wayne Weinberg
Committee Members

Laurel Lichtenberger

JoAnn Michalsky
RPC Database Mgr.


Please visit our Contact page to get in touch with any of the individuals in the
Planning Committee or Florida FIRST Robotics Education Foundation.  
Thank you!

bottom of page